European Society for
Research in
Mathematics
Education

CERME 3: Third Conference of the 
European Society for Research in Mathematics Education
28 February - 3 March 2003 in Bellaria, Italy

Proceedings - Draft Version


Group1
The role of metaphors and images in the learning and understanding of mathematics
- This includes embodied cognition
Bernard Parzysz (F) <parzysz.bernard@wanadoo.fr>
Christer Bergsten (S)
Josè Manuel Matos (P)
Angela Pesci (IT)
Group 2 
Affect and mathematical thinking
- This includes the role of beliefs, emotions, and other affective factors
Jeff Evans (UK) <J.Evans@mdx.ac.uk>
Markku Hannula (FI)
George Philippou (CR)
Rosetta Zan (IT)
Group 3
Building structures in mathematical knowledge
- This includes the way pupils construct mathematical concepts and schemes and develop thinking strategies.
Milan Hejny (CZ) <milan.hejny@quick.cz>
Graham H. Littler (UK)
Perla Nesher (IS)
Melissa Rodd (UK)
Group 4
Argumentation and proof
- This includes epistemological and historical studies, learning issues and classroom situations
Rudolf vom Hofe (D) <vom.hofe@mathematik.uni-regensburg.de> 
Christine Knipping (D)
Maria Alessandra Mariotti (IT)
Bettina Pedemonte (F)
Group 5
Stochastic thinking
- This includes pupils' cognitive processes and difficulties and curriculum issues
Dave Pratt (UK) <dave.pratt@warwick.ac.uk>
Carmen Batanero  (E)

Rolf Biehler (D)
Michel Henry (F)
Group 6
Algebraic thinking
- This includes pupils' cognitive processes and difficulties and curriculum issues
Abraham Arcavi (IL) <abraham.arcavi@weizmann.ac.il>
Lucianna Bazzini (IT)
Catherine Sackur (F)
Pessia Tsamir (IS)
Group 7
Geometrical thinking
- This includes pupils' cognitive processes and difficulties and curriculum issues
Jean-Luc Dorier (F) <Jean-Luc.Dorier@imag.fr>
Angel Gutierrez (E)
Rudolf Straesser (D)
Group 8
Social Interactions in Mathematical Learning Situations
- This includes situated learning, and the study of the classroom as a social place for learning.
Goetz Krummheuer (D)
<krummheuer@math.uni-frankfurt.de>
Mariolina Bartolini Bussi (IT)
Marit Johnsen-Høines (N)
Alison Price (UK)
Group 9
Tools and Technologies in Mathematical Didactics
- This includes teaching and learning environments.
Keith Jones (UK) <D.K.Jones@soton.ac.uk>
Jean-Baptiste Lagrange (F)
Giampaolo Chiappini (IT)
Thomas Lingefjärd (S)
Group 10
Teaching and learning mathematics in multicultural classrooms
- This includes understanding pupils' cultures, researching teaching strategies and school policies.
Núria Gorgorió (E)
Guida Abreu (UK)
Franco Favilli (IT)
Group 11
Inter-relating theory and practice
- This includes being a teacher-researcher, reflective teaching, action research, disseminating research results, and building theory from practice.
Andrea Peter-Koop (D) <apeter@uni-muenster.de>
Barbara Jaworski (UK)
Konrad Krainer (A)
Lurdes Serrazina (P)
Group 12
From a Study of Teaching Practices to Issues in Teacher Education
- This includes teachersí beliefs and the role of the teacher in the classroom, as well as strategies for teacher education.
Barbro Grevholm (S) <Barbro.Grevholm@mna.hkr.se>
Josè Carrillo (E)
Ruhama Even (IS)
Juliana Szendrei (H)

Last modified: 2003 September 8



This page is hosted by the web server of the Department of Mathematics of the University of Pisa
For any technical problem please contact didattica@dm.unipi.it